Posts Tagged ‘DJ Premier’

DJ Premier ft. A$AP Ferg – “Our Streets”

Posted: November 2, 2017 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: ,


With the relaunch of the seminal Payday Records, DJ Premier and A$AP Ferg have linked to drop the first song for the label.

The song is exactly what you’d expect — Primo’s signature cutting and Ferg’s raw flow combining for that vintage NYC feel. 

“It’s a dream to be able to work with the legendary DJ Premier on this record” said Ferg. “Primo has worked with all the NYC Hip-Hop icons and greats – Nas, Biggie, Guru, Hov, KRS-one, and The Lox. Just knowing I was working with him pushed me as an MC.”

“With Ferg, or anybody I work with, they already know my history so they know that I come from the 90s era” DJ Premier said. “Ferg just automatically said ‘Don’t do what I’ve been doing on my albums – I want you to do a Preemo style and let me show I can rap to that,’ so I was like ‘let’s do it.’ Everybody was happy off jump – no suggestions, no ‘I think we should go this direction’ – it was an automatic in, out, done, in one day.”

Originally formed in 1992, Payday was the first label to sign Jay Z and release his “In My Lifetime” single in 1995. Other artists that came through Payday’s pipeline include Group Home, Showbiz and AG, WC and the MAAD Circle, Mos Def (via UTD), and Jeru the Damaja.


DJ Premier x Miguel – “2 Lovin U”

Posted: February 21, 2017 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: ,


DJ Premier is unloading the vault. Today’s offering is “2 Lovin U,” a 2015 track for Miguel that was scrapped from the singer’s Wildheart project. The song ending up on the album as “Damned,” a rock-fusion hybrid with a throwback 70s feel. Primo’s version also has a guitar-driven sample but retains his signature vocal scratches on the chorus. You decide which one is more effective.


DJ Premier Remixes “I Love Kanye”

Posted: February 25, 2016 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: , , , , ,


I’m a street DJ and when a good acappella is naked, you put some clothes on it. – Primo

You read it from the man himself. DJ Premier couldn’t resist throwing his signature boom bap under Ye’s acappella vocals for “I Love Kanye.”


On December 11, PRhyme will release deluxe edition of their 2014 debut. Today, they unveil one of project’s new collaborations featuring Phonte and MF Doom. Your Thanksgiving lyrical feast begins early.


Following a teaser drop several months ago, the duo known as PRhyme finally drops the full-length video for “Courtesy.”


Papoose and DJ Premier link up with a dope theme for NBA 2K16’s MyCareer Mode. The entire soundtrack is worth a listen, as it’s curated by Primo, DJ Mustard and DJ Khaled.


DJ Premier gives Papoose a big band production backing for his latest single “The Plug.” Pap’s sophomore album, You Can’t Stop Destiny, hits stores on July 17. Peep the tracklisting below.

Tracklisting for Papoose’s You Can’t Stop Destiny:

1.) “The Bank” (produced by Ron Browz)

2.) “You Ain’t Built Like That” (produced by Amadeus)

3.) “Mobbing” f/ Troy Ave (produced by Havoc)

4.) “The Plug” (produced by DJ Premier)

5.) “Michael Jackson” f/ Remy Ma & Ty Dolla $ign (produced by Ron Browz)

6.) “Wish A Nigga Would” (produced by DJ Tip)

7.) “Everything To Gain” f/ A.G (produced by Showbiz)

8.) “Revenge” f/ Maino & Red Cafe (produced by GUN Productions)

9.) “Team US” (produced by DJ Tip)

10.) “You Draggin It” (produced by DJ Tip)

11.) “Global Warming Part 2” (produced by GUN Productions)

12.) “Illuminati” (produced by Gemcrates)

13.) “Obituary 2014” (produced by GUN Productions) *****Bonus Track