Posts Tagged ‘single’


Although the beef with Pusha T is still sizzling courtesy of the “Duppy Freestyle,” Drake’s decided to use the publicity to put eyes on his official first single for Scorpion.

Much like the approach taken with “Started From the Bottom,” the lyrical skill is stripped down on “I’m Upset” in favor of a simplistic but catchy rhythm. It’s in the vein of the Soundcloud rap you hear these days and fits the vibin’ out/recharge moments one will experience after stepping off the dance floor.

Some might feel the quality isn’t first single material, but admittedly we might be listening with more discerning ears since this follows “Duppy.”


O.C.- “Serious”

Posted: January 17, 2017 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: , , ,


DITC veteran O.C. returns with some piano-laced boom bap on “Serious.” The Gwop Sullivan-produced track is the second single off a forthcoming album named Same Moon, Same Sun. No word yet on a release date.

Joe Budden – “I Gotta Ask” (Prod. by araabMUZIK)

Posted: October 17, 2016 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: , , ,


Just day before the date of their collaboration Rage & The Machine (October 21), Joe Budden and araabMUZIK drop the project’s third single “I Gotta Ask.”

“The beat immediately brought me to a very nostalgic place, it just felt good,” Budden told BET. “Hopefully, it’ll have that same effect when others hear it; I’d like for that to resonate.”


REKS – “Kites” (Prod. by Alchemist)

Posted: August 1, 2016 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: , , , ,


REKS is going all out with the announcement of his most ambitious project yet. The Boston emcee will drop a loaded double album on September 4 entitled The Greatest X. The first salvo from the project comes via the production of Alchemist on “Kites.” The album is rounded out by some of game’s best beatsmiths in Nottz, Apollo Brown, Buckwild, Streetrunner, Statik Selektah, Large Professor and more. Check out the single and tracklist below.

Disc 1
1. ‘The Greatest Intro’ (produced by The S.U.I.C.I.D.E. S.Q.U.A.D.)
2. ‘A.N.O.N.Y.M.O.U.S.’ (produced by Statik Selektah)
3. ‘Hands Up’ (Wink Wink) (produced by STREETRUNNER)
4. ‘Jumpshots’ [cuts by Statik Selektah] (produced by Buckwild)
5. ‘Plane Gang’ f/ Akrobatik, Edo G & Termanology (produced by The Audible Doctor)
6. ‘The Greatest’ f/ Jared Evan (produced by The Arcitype)
7. ‘Surrounded’ f/ Dutch Rebelle, Alias & EzDread (produced by The Arcitype)
8. ‘Liberation’ (produced by Black Milk)
9. ‘Gone Baby Gone’ (produced by Large Professor)
10. ‘The Recipe’ (produced by NOTTZ)
11. ‘Unknown’ (produced by NOTTZ)
12. ‘B.E.E.F.’ f/ N.B.S. (produced by 75 Crates)
13. ‘LL Cool J’ (produced by The Audible Doctor)
14.’ Good Women, Thot Bitches’ f/ Termanology (produced by Billy Loman)
15. ‘The Promise’ (produced by Jon Glass & Vinyl Villain)
16. ‘Pray For Me: The Genocide Note’ (produced by Statik Selektah)
17. ‘My Dark Skin’ (Revisited) (produced by The Audible Doctor)
18. ‘Benjamin Button’ (produced by Rain)

Disc 2
1. ‘Impression, Sunrise’ (produced by Moss & Pro Logic)
2, ‘EgoTrippen’ (produced by Evidence)
3. ‘Bitch Slap’ f/ RA the Rugged Man (produced by The Arcitype)
4. ‘Kites’ (produced by The Alchemist)
5. ‘Future Kings’ f/ Cassius the 5th (produced by Apollo Brown)
6. ‘H.I.P.H.O.P.’ (produced by Apollo Brown)
7. ‘Final Four 2’ f/ Ea$y Money, Planet Asia, Rasco, Reef the Lost Cauze, King Magnetic, Phat Kat & Guilty Simpson (produced by The Audible Doctor)
8. ‘Eye in the Sky’ f/ No Doz & Ripshop (produced by The Audible Doctor)
9. ‘Loud’ f/ Lucky Dice (produced by Numonics)
10. ‘Massachusetts’ f/ Mr. Fritz & Lucky Dice (produced by Numonics)
11. ‘Twenty4Seven3SixFive’ (produced by B.C. Einstein)
12. ‘1980’ f/ Jaysaun & TriState (produced by The Audible Doctor)
13. ‘Cigarettes 2’ f/ ColdShold (produced by Relentless)
14. ‘Intuition’ (produced by J57)
15. ‘Worldview’ f/ Supnate & Moe Pope (produced by Short Fyuz)
16. ‘Back Home’ f/ SPNDA, Bakari JB & Kay-R (produced by Short Fyuz)
17. ‘Yesterday/Today/Tomorrow’ (produced by Hazardis Soundz)


Blu and Nottz are in posse mode with “Giant Steps,” the second leak off their forthcoming EP Titans in the Flesh (July 15). As expected, all four emcees put in work on this one. Blu kicks it off with deft food wordplay, Bishop Lamont goes in on those who don’t uplift theirs hoods, and the Barrel Brothers bring it home with that NYC braggadocio. Of course, DJ Revolution lends his vintage scratching to the proceedings.


Following up on their 2013 project Gods In the Spirit, Blu and Nottz are back together for the new EP Titans In the Flesh (July 15, Coalmine Records). The first salvo from the extended play is “Atlantis.” The full tracklist is listed below.

01. The Truth (feat. Shateish)
02. Heaven on Earth
03. Giant Steps (feat. Bishop Lamont, Torae, Skyzoo & DJ Revolution)
04. To the East (feat. Definite Mass, TriState, Mickey Factz & Johaz)
05. The Man (feat. Exile & Nottz)
06. Atlantis
07. Atlantis (feat. Akie Bermiss) [J57 Remix]

Wale Drops Michael Jackson Inspired “PYT”

Posted: May 20, 2016 by Ismael AbduSalaam in Music News
Tags: , , , , , ,


Wale is putting the finishing touches on his sixth studio album SHINE (Still Here Ignoring Negative Energy). Tonight, the DMV star released the first single “PYT” featuring Sam Sneak. After the critical acclaim for his last album, the creative The Album About Nothing, “PYT”comes off as sounding like a safe, by the numbers radio offering. Check it out and see if you agree.